You are here


About Aberdeen Branch

Established in 1935, the Aberdeen Branch serves Aberdeen City and Shire. The branch provides a forum for those interested in early years education and care to come together to share, experience and learn about development in the early years sector.

The Aberdeen Branch of Early Education was founded in 1935 as the Aberdeen Branch of the Nursery School Association. During its 80 years existence it has provided a rich source of learning and development for practitioners working with young children in the north-east of Scotland.

The Aberdeen branch has organised many conferences – both local and national – attracting speakers and audiences from near and far. 

In 1985, to celebrate the branch’s golden jubilee, a weekend event was held at the picturesque Douneside House near Tarland in Aberdeenshire, where our speakers during the weekend included Prof. Brian Sutton-Smith of the University of Pennsylvania, Marion Dowling (a former President of the Association) and Cynthia James who was, at that time, national chair.

In 1993 and 2010 the branch was pleased to host the Association’s annual national conference, when once again the spotlight was on Aberdeen to show off the delights of Aberdeen and Shire, as well as to highlight current early years trends.  The Aberdeen branch will once again be hosting the Early Education Annual National Conference in May 2021.

Meetings of the Aberdeen Branch take place in a regular venue (the McRobert Building in the University of Aberdeen) and we have found that we can sustain around five meetings in a year. We vary the timings of these meetings in order to fit in with speakers’ availability, and uptake can vary considerably.  In line with many associations, the branch has had its ups and downs, but due to the enthusiasm and determination of committee members over the years, it continues to thrive.

AGM 2021 documents:

PDF icon AGM 2021 minutes.pdf

PDF icon Aberdeen Branch Constitution June 2021.pdf

PDF icon Aberdeen Branch AGM Agenda June 2021.pdf

PDF icon AGM 2019 minutes.pdf

PDF icon Copy of BranchAnnualReturn ABERDEEN 2021.pdf

AGM 2019 documents:

PDF icon Aberdeen Branch Constitution June 2019.pdf

PDF icon AGM 2019 minutes.pdf

AGM 2018 documents:

Aberdeen Branch Constitution June 2018

AGM 2018 minutes

Aberdeen Branch Team

Chair - Myra McRobbie

Secretary - Jas Shoker

Treasurer - Zoe Sadler 

Past events

09 Nov 2021

Aberdeen Branch Event - Designing Spaces for Listening and Understanding

Speaker(s): Suzanne Axelsson

12 Oct 2021

Aberdeen Branch Event - Promoting Equality and Inclusion

Speaker(s): Tamsin Grimmer

28 Sep 2021

Aberdeen Branch Event - Going with the Flow of Play and Creating Moments of Enchantment in the Early Years

Speaker(s): Alistair Bryce-Clegg

07 Sep 2021

Aberdeen Branch event - Why understanding the impact of the early years matters even more than it did before COVID

Speaker(s): Dr Suzanne Zeedyk

09 Jun 2021

Aberdeen Branch Event – 86th Annual General Meeting

Speaker(s): Cathy Nutbrown, Beatrice Merrick